Tuesday, February 9, 2016

The Road to Dopey - Part 3

So the day had finally come and it was time for the BIG RACE. The marathon was here, and for the most part I was ready. I mean I had spent the better part of the last 4 months training. I had the typical race nerves especially considering my last marathon in 2013, I finished almost behind the feared balloon ladies. So for 2 years, I had a fear of marathons and said I would never run another one again. Well something changed my mind because I found myself signed up for the Dopey Challenge and at the start line of the marathon once again. 

My alarm was once again set for super early and my clothes were set out and ready. I went with a Peter Pan theme for the marathon and I had my dad help me with my shirt. "Second star to the right and straight on til morning" is one of my favorite quotes from Peter Pan so I changed it a little to fit the run and went with "Second star to the right and straight on to the finish line!"


The marathon outfit. 

I didn't have any green compression socks but I thought #TheGibblers ProCompression socks were a perfect match for the rest of my outfit. I'd worn capris for the rest of the races, but I wasn't wearing them for the marathon and I found some Saucony shorts with pockets on the side just like the rest of my capris. Anyone that knows me, knows I'm not going to run without my phone for 26.2 miles and I didn't want to carry it but wanted it available for pictures along the way. The shorts were PERFECT! I packed my SPIbelt with my inhaler, just in case, and some nutrition. 

I got myself up at 2:30, just like the other mornings and I was out the door by 3! I caught the bus over to Epcot for a lot of waiting around. I took some mylar again and a blanket so I would be warm sitting around although it was not as chilly as the past few mornings. Now I just had to wait around for the start. I waited in the runners village for a little bit until they released us to go to the corrals and then I made the long trek to the corrals. I stopped at the bathroom and then headed to my corral. I was in I like Indiana Jones! I found a spot on the fence towards th front of the corral and sat and waited for the start of the race. Finally, it was time to start moving forward towards the start line. I was ready! 

The fireworks went off for my corral and I started out slow and steady. It was HUMID. I trained in St. Louis, in the winter where it isn't humid so I slowed my pace a little. It took me about two miles to settle into the run and feel like I wasn't going to die. I was a little sore from the previous races. I got past the two mile marker and I was feeling like "I can do this!" I made my way through the the entrance of the Magic Kingdom parking lot, following the same course as the half. I was having a pretty good time. The last time I ran the marathon was part of the Goofy Challenge and I didn't train as well and I was miserable. I stopped at every bathroom along the way I think so I was determined to only stop at the parks if possible. I got to the Magic Kingdom and was overwhelmed by everyone cheering and ran up Main Street towards the castle. 


Cinderella's Castle. 

I was still feeling pretty good, I mean I was only about 5.5 miles in at this point, so I made a quick bathroom stop back by Gaston.s tavern and I was on my way through the castle! It was much easier to run through the castle during the marathon than the half. I got to the other side and stopped for the picture in front and then was on my way. Six miles down and 20.2 to go! I could do this. Just keep running. I headed out of the Magic Kingdom and on to the Animal Kingdom. The journey from MK to AK was about 5 miles and we made our way through all the back roads of Disney. Psst some water treatment plant with some fun facts about the property, none of which I can now remember or probably could even remember shortly after the run. But they were entertaining at the time. Finally I could see those back gates of Animal Kingdom and they had a water stop along with a nutrition stop with bananas. The BEST banana I think I've ever had in my life. The banana gave me some power because I kept on running through Animal Kingdom feeling great. I knew that half way mark was coming up so I kept up my pace. 


Best sign. 

Halfway done. This was pretty much where I fell apart in my last marathon so I tried my best to keep it together. This stretch from AK to ESPN felt like the longest last time so I was determined not to let it bring me down this time. I was starting to wear down a little bit and I could start to feel it in my feet, but I kept moving. The last mile marker in the parking lot of AK was 14 and it was about 3 miles to ESPN, but it seemed like the longest 3 miles...up and over an overpass. At this point, I thought I'd never get to ESPN...was I running forever and not getting anywhere? Then finally I saw those giant letters and I was there. Time to run my way through the ESPN Wide World of Sports. I was definitely sore. My feet hurt and my knees hurt. And I was tired. The miles seemed to get longer and longer and I just wasn't sure I could go anymore but I kept moving. Finally I was on my way to Hollywood Studios. Back on the streets of Disney. It was a little over two miles from ESPN to Hollywood Studios. I got to about miles 21 and I had to go to the bathroom so bad I thought I might have to duck into the woods but finally right before mile 22 there were a couple of portapotties! Hallelujah! I probably had to wait 3-4 minutes but I couldn't take another step if I didn't stop. And then I got in there and there was no toilet paper! I think all the girls will understand this but I don't think you've fully experienced a marathon until you've had to squat in a portapotty after running 22 miles. Talk about your legs being on fire!! Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger right? I felt much better and thought I could finish the race without having to stop again (I was wrong I had to stop again in Germany at Epcot). Hollywood Studios was almost just around the corner and I did what running I could to get there. I ran through Hollywood Studios and let me just tell you that at 23 miles I was an emotional mess, my feet hurt, I was tired, my legs hurt and I just wanted to sit down but then someone said "go Peter Pan! Great job!" Yep that was the end and of course I started to cry because this. 



I ran down the center of Hollywood Studios and out the front and on to the Boardwalk. I was almost there!  I could totally do this. My mind kept arguing with me but I kept telling myself "you got this!" 


Hollywood Studios. 

I ran around the Boardwalk and through back gate of Epcot. I was so close to the finish line. I could finish. Just keep running. In through England and around the world and up past Spaceship Earth towards the finish line. Easy peasy. Well mostly easy...I had to stop one last time in Germany at the bathroom which worked out for the best because I ended up running in to Dani, who I had met the previous day at the #werunsocial meetup! We talked for a few seconds and the I took off to finish strong. I ran with everything I had left in me. I got to that 26 mile marker and was so excited and kept on running and the I could see it up ahead. The FINISH LINE. And then I spotted Mickey Mouse off to the side. I hadn't stopped for one character the entire 48.6 miles, but I was not missing out on Mickey at the finish line so I hopped on over for a quick picture and the finished up the race. 



I DID IT. I RAN THE DOPEY CHALLENGE. And I had finished the marathon exactly one hour faster than my previous marathon time! An hour PR after 3 other races say what?! It was time to get that marathon medal and those other two medals and make my way out and back to the hotel for a shower and some celebrating at the parks! 



I showered and headed to Magic Kingdom for some celebrating and fun. After all, I had to show Mickey all the medals I had just earned. 



What an awesome experience! And definitely one I would do again! Monday I spent the day at the Magic Kingdom, breakfast reservations before the park opens means pictures in front of the castle with no one around. 



Now to get back to running and start training for the Go! St. Louis half in April and the Indy Mini Marathon in May. 

No comments:

Post a Comment