Tuesday, February 9, 2016

The Road to Dopey - Part 3

So the day had finally come and it was time for the BIG RACE. The marathon was here, and for the most part I was ready. I mean I had spent the better part of the last 4 months training. I had the typical race nerves especially considering my last marathon in 2013, I finished almost behind the feared balloon ladies. So for 2 years, I had a fear of marathons and said I would never run another one again. Well something changed my mind because I found myself signed up for the Dopey Challenge and at the start line of the marathon once again. 

My alarm was once again set for super early and my clothes were set out and ready. I went with a Peter Pan theme for the marathon and I had my dad help me with my shirt. "Second star to the right and straight on til morning" is one of my favorite quotes from Peter Pan so I changed it a little to fit the run and went with "Second star to the right and straight on to the finish line!"


The marathon outfit. 

I didn't have any green compression socks but I thought #TheGibblers ProCompression socks were a perfect match for the rest of my outfit. I'd worn capris for the rest of the races, but I wasn't wearing them for the marathon and I found some Saucony shorts with pockets on the side just like the rest of my capris. Anyone that knows me, knows I'm not going to run without my phone for 26.2 miles and I didn't want to carry it but wanted it available for pictures along the way. The shorts were PERFECT! I packed my SPIbelt with my inhaler, just in case, and some nutrition. 

I got myself up at 2:30, just like the other mornings and I was out the door by 3! I caught the bus over to Epcot for a lot of waiting around. I took some mylar again and a blanket so I would be warm sitting around although it was not as chilly as the past few mornings. Now I just had to wait around for the start. I waited in the runners village for a little bit until they released us to go to the corrals and then I made the long trek to the corrals. I stopped at the bathroom and then headed to my corral. I was in I like Indiana Jones! I found a spot on the fence towards th front of the corral and sat and waited for the start of the race. Finally, it was time to start moving forward towards the start line. I was ready! 

The fireworks went off for my corral and I started out slow and steady. It was HUMID. I trained in St. Louis, in the winter where it isn't humid so I slowed my pace a little. It took me about two miles to settle into the run and feel like I wasn't going to die. I was a little sore from the previous races. I got past the two mile marker and I was feeling like "I can do this!" I made my way through the the entrance of the Magic Kingdom parking lot, following the same course as the half. I was having a pretty good time. The last time I ran the marathon was part of the Goofy Challenge and I didn't train as well and I was miserable. I stopped at every bathroom along the way I think so I was determined to only stop at the parks if possible. I got to the Magic Kingdom and was overwhelmed by everyone cheering and ran up Main Street towards the castle. 


Cinderella's Castle. 

I was still feeling pretty good, I mean I was only about 5.5 miles in at this point, so I made a quick bathroom stop back by Gaston.s tavern and I was on my way through the castle! It was much easier to run through the castle during the marathon than the half. I got to the other side and stopped for the picture in front and then was on my way. Six miles down and 20.2 to go! I could do this. Just keep running. I headed out of the Magic Kingdom and on to the Animal Kingdom. The journey from MK to AK was about 5 miles and we made our way through all the back roads of Disney. Psst some water treatment plant with some fun facts about the property, none of which I can now remember or probably could even remember shortly after the run. But they were entertaining at the time. Finally I could see those back gates of Animal Kingdom and they had a water stop along with a nutrition stop with bananas. The BEST banana I think I've ever had in my life. The banana gave me some power because I kept on running through Animal Kingdom feeling great. I knew that half way mark was coming up so I kept up my pace. 


Best sign. 

Halfway done. This was pretty much where I fell apart in my last marathon so I tried my best to keep it together. This stretch from AK to ESPN felt like the longest last time so I was determined not to let it bring me down this time. I was starting to wear down a little bit and I could start to feel it in my feet, but I kept moving. The last mile marker in the parking lot of AK was 14 and it was about 3 miles to ESPN, but it seemed like the longest 3 miles...up and over an overpass. At this point, I thought I'd never get to ESPN...was I running forever and not getting anywhere? Then finally I saw those giant letters and I was there. Time to run my way through the ESPN Wide World of Sports. I was definitely sore. My feet hurt and my knees hurt. And I was tired. The miles seemed to get longer and longer and I just wasn't sure I could go anymore but I kept moving. Finally I was on my way to Hollywood Studios. Back on the streets of Disney. It was a little over two miles from ESPN to Hollywood Studios. I got to about miles 21 and I had to go to the bathroom so bad I thought I might have to duck into the woods but finally right before mile 22 there were a couple of portapotties! Hallelujah! I probably had to wait 3-4 minutes but I couldn't take another step if I didn't stop. And then I got in there and there was no toilet paper! I think all the girls will understand this but I don't think you've fully experienced a marathon until you've had to squat in a portapotty after running 22 miles. Talk about your legs being on fire!! Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger right? I felt much better and thought I could finish the race without having to stop again (I was wrong I had to stop again in Germany at Epcot). Hollywood Studios was almost just around the corner and I did what running I could to get there. I ran through Hollywood Studios and let me just tell you that at 23 miles I was an emotional mess, my feet hurt, I was tired, my legs hurt and I just wanted to sit down but then someone said "go Peter Pan! Great job!" Yep that was the end and of course I started to cry because this. 



I ran down the center of Hollywood Studios and out the front and on to the Boardwalk. I was almost there!  I could totally do this. My mind kept arguing with me but I kept telling myself "you got this!" 


Hollywood Studios. 

I ran around the Boardwalk and through back gate of Epcot. I was so close to the finish line. I could finish. Just keep running. In through England and around the world and up past Spaceship Earth towards the finish line. Easy peasy. Well mostly easy...I had to stop one last time in Germany at the bathroom which worked out for the best because I ended up running in to Dani, who I had met the previous day at the #werunsocial meetup! We talked for a few seconds and the I took off to finish strong. I ran with everything I had left in me. I got to that 26 mile marker and was so excited and kept on running and the I could see it up ahead. The FINISH LINE. And then I spotted Mickey Mouse off to the side. I hadn't stopped for one character the entire 48.6 miles, but I was not missing out on Mickey at the finish line so I hopped on over for a quick picture and the finished up the race. 



I DID IT. I RAN THE DOPEY CHALLENGE. And I had finished the marathon exactly one hour faster than my previous marathon time! An hour PR after 3 other races say what?! It was time to get that marathon medal and those other two medals and make my way out and back to the hotel for a shower and some celebrating at the parks! 



I showered and headed to Magic Kingdom for some celebrating and fun. After all, I had to show Mickey all the medals I had just earned. 



What an awesome experience! And definitely one I would do again! Monday I spent the day at the Magic Kingdom, breakfast reservations before the park opens means pictures in front of the castle with no one around. 



Now to get back to running and start training for the Go! St. Louis half in April and the Indy Mini Marathon in May. 

Sunday, January 31, 2016

The Road to Dopey - Part 2

The first race of the weekend was over and it was time for the next one. The 10k was up next and I was ready, after all I had trained for this and it was just double what I ran the previous day. I could totally do this. The 10k started at 5:30 AM so I set my alarm for 3 AM since the first bus over to Epcot was at 3:30 AM. I set out my clothes so that I was ready to get dressed in the morning (although I usually wear half of what I'm going to run in to bed when I have to get up that early). 


The 10k outfit. 

I thought for the 10k since it was Minnie's 10k that Minnie Mouse was the perfect outfit! I found this awesome Raw Threads top on sale one day online and had to have it and it happened to match perfectly with my Sparkle Athletic skirt, visor and shwings! 

The alarm went off and I got up and dressed and was out the door. The forecast called for rain that morning so I grabbed my rain jacket and also a piece of mylar to keep warm before the race and I headed over to Epcot. The misty rain started almost as soon a s I stepped off the bus and I covered myself with the mylar blanket, saving my jacket for the actual run.  I got through bag check and into the runner's village and waited around for a while listening to the DJ before I headed to my corral. There is so much waiting around before these Disney races! Back home, I can drive 20 minutes to the start line and then wait in my car for a little bit before I get into my corral but Disney is a whole different ballgame. The wait at Disney is always entertaining though because there's so much to see...so many costumes! I'm lucky to see a handful of other sparkle skirts back home! The time finally came to start the race, I ditched the Mylar to the side and traded it for my jacket since it was still kind of raining. The good thing about my jacket is that it folds up into itself and has a handstrap. So convenient! I was off and headed towards the finish line! The first three miles were outside of Epcot and then we headed into the park for a run around the world. I didn't stop for any pictures with characters but did stop for some pictures with other things along the way. The course led us around the world and out the back of Epcot and onto the Boardwalk. By the time I got to the Boardwalk, I felt like I was going to eat my arm or maybe the next person that ran by me...I was starving! I never had problems running 6.2 miles and being this hungry, but I think it might have been all the waiting around that morning. Thank goodness for the SUPER AWESOME lady handing out doughnuts!! Best doughnut ever!! It definitely helped me through the end of the race as I headed back towards Epcot and to the finish line! 

Race highlights. 

I crossed that finish line and headed to get my medal and all my post race beverages and food. I was ready for a warm shower and some real food, so I headed back to the hotel. 


The medal. 

After the race, shower and food, it was time for a little park time. I was off to Animal Kingdom for a few fastpasses. I didn't want to spend a lot of time walking around all day and wanted to save my legs for the half, so I took it pretty easy. I saw Mickey and Minnie and rode the safari and Everest and a few other rides and then had a delicious pasta dinner before heading back to the hotel to rest up before the half. 


Character fun. 

My alarm would go off before I knew it for the half. The first bus for the half started at 3 AM for the half, so I set my alarm for 2:30 AM! Yep...that's right...2:30 in the morning. Pretty much the middle of the night! I set my clothes out again so I was ready to go when that alarm sounded. I decided on Ariel for the half marathon. She's my FAVORITE princess! 


The half outfit. 

I went with a Sparkle Athletic skirt as usual and added some ProCompression socks to the mix. If I run anything longer than 6 or 6 miles, my legs need these! My dad helped me make my shirt and I altered some Part of Your World lyrics "legs are required for jumping, dancing," replace with RUNNING! Because a girl can't run with FINS! I decided to add my shoe clips from my new New Balance Ariel shoes for a little extra! 

Just like the previous two mornings, the alarm went off and I was up, dressed and out the door to the bus. This time, I brought a mylar blanket and a regular blanket (to sit on). Unlike the 5k and the 10k, the corrals for the half around about 1/2-3/4 mile walk from where they drop you off from the bus. I got through the bag check again and waited around a little bit until they released us all to the corrals. I started my trek to the corrals. I was running the half with my dad that morning so I headed to his corral with him. It was incredibly foggy that morning...so humid! We waited around for the start of the race and finally it our turn! We were off...I was headed towards the Magic Kingdom and to run through that castle. The castle that started running for me back in 2010. The reason I stared running. And I'd get to run through it twice this weekend! It was a little over 2 miles to the Magic Kingdom parking lot and then another 3 before we hit the actual Magic Kingdom so we had a little ways to go. 



We made our way through the parking lot of the Magic Kingdom and the Ticket and Transportation Center and back down the road towards the Contemporary and into the Magic Kingdom. It was so foggy that you could barely see the  Contemporary! We passed Space Mountain and headed into into the park and onto Main Street. An overwhelming feeling because it is Main Street USA  and there are so many people there to cheer on the runners. Through the fog you could see Cinderella's Castle still lit up with Christmas lights. It was beautiful!


The Castle. 

We headed back through Tomorrowland and around past Fantasyland and the THROUGH the castle. This was really tricky though because at this point it was almost at a dead stop. Anna and Elsa and Sven were on top of the castle talking to all the runners as they went through. We made it to the other side and headed to Frontierland and the out of the park. The next few miles went by the Grand Floridian and the Polynesian and then back into the main roads back to Epcot. It was still so foggy when we got back towards Epcot that you couldn't even see Spaceship Earth. We entered Epcot and made our way towards the finish line. 


The finish line. 

 I definitely took it easy for the half since I still had the marathon ahead of me and still had some fears about running 26.2 miles. I got my awesome medal and headed towards all the post race things, water, powerade, pictures and food. After a shower and some food, it was time for the #werunsocial meetup at Disney Springs! I was definitely excited about this because I was going to meet some people that I followed on social media.  There were so many people there and I am definitely not one to strike up a conversation with people I don't know so I was glad that a few people started talking to me. It was a great experience! The #werunsocial crew is awesome! 


The #werunsocial crew.


I was there for about an hour or so and then headed to the Magic Kingdom to have an early dinner at Tony's before heading back to the hotel to get ready for the marathon. 

Next time...The Marathon recap.


Sunday, January 17, 2016

The Road to Dopey - Part 1

Well, I did it! I ran 48.6 miles in 4 day and I can honestly say that I would without a doubt do it again!

Last week, I took on the Dopey Challenge and Disney World. Four races, four days, four parks and 48.6 miles of fun! I knew I was in for a lot over these four days plus all the walking in the parks on top of it all but I trained for it and I was ready.

First up was the expo. I picked up my bib and some pretty sweet runDisney New Balance Little Mermaid shoes. I mean, how could I not buy them?! I LOVE Ariel!

 
The bib. 
The shoes. 

After the expo, I headed to the parks for some fun before the start of all of my races. I was really excited that the Osborne lights had been extended until January 6 and I was able to see them one more time before they were gone for good! So sad to see them leave! 




The Osborne Lights. 

After the lights, it was off to bed...3 AM comes awfully early. Well, that alarm went off without a hitch and I got right up to get dressed for the 5k. I decided to go with Rapunzel. I found a Raw Threads shirt for $12 and I paired it with a Sparkle Athletic skirt and visor! I couldn't leave out my little friend Pascal and of course Rapunzel's frying pan...notice the Minnie Mouse shape.  Thanks to my friend Sarah for both of these finds! 


The 5k outfit. 

So the buses from the hotels started at 3:30 AM that morning, and since I had never taken bus transportation from an on property hotel, I wanted to be sure to be out there are 3:30.  The buses were not a problem at all! They had plenty of buses. I got on the bus and headed over to Epcot to wait around for the start of the race. I decided to wait in line for a picture with Dopey. I mean, after all that training I was about to take on HIS challenge so why not? Plus, there was like over an hour until race time anyway. runDisney does a pretty good job with pre-race entertainment. There was a Dj with music to get you moving at the very early hour of the morning. I got my picture with Dopey and then headed off to the bathroom before heading to the corrals.
 

Dopey!

I was off to my corral and waited around some more. Disney definitely likes the waiting game. Reminds me of the days when I helped with hot air balloons. Hurry up and wait! The time finally came for the 5k to start and I was off...I ran the first 3/4 mile and then walked since it was so congested and I headed into Epcot. Running through the parks when they aren't open is so awesome!they had us running in through the back of Mexico and our journey around the world began. I didn't stop for any characters because the lines were too long but I did stop for some other photo ops. I had to stop for the phone booth in England because there is a photo of me as a kid the same way!


Fun around the world!

The finish line. 

I did it! Run #1 was complete! Now it was time to grab some food and shower and head off to the parks. I had some fast passes at Hollywood Studios so headed there first. I had never been on Toy Story Mania before so I was excited that I was going on that one! I also stumbled upon Sorcerer Mickey while walking around! I HAD to stop for a picture!  

Me and Sorcerer Mickey!

It was another early bedtime since the 10k started even early and the buses started at 3AM the next day, so after some fun at the parks it was off to bed. The alarm would be going off before I knew it! 

Next time...the 10k and Half.